I am currently a software engineer in privacy engineering (previously mobile security, security infrastructure). I used to do privacy research as a graduate student at University of Waterloo, and organize LAN parties as an undergraduate at SIUC.

I like weird experiments and tinkering with strange systems. I also like knitting, cooking and painting. I sometimes play (video) games, and less frequently stream my gameplay.

I have two cats.

background and (research) interests

I have a background in software and web development on primarily Linux platforms, generally in systems or back-end applications. My languages of choice are Java, C and Python. I am currently learning Rust!

My research focus in a past life has been on privacy problems relating to big data, namely things like: stylometry and profile-linking problems. I am currently interested in data tracking and protection problems; specifically interested in user credential propagation, and scalable access control techniques on a per-field level as opposed to per-table, per-operation, or per-database level. I am also interested in scalable data identification and redaction techniques, which I find akin on the same difficult as spam identification problems.


I run a Tor relay. You should too!

My tor relay costs money! If you’d like to donate to my cause, feel free to use one of the links here:


I currently work at Square. You can see my full work history on LinkedIn.


I may be reached at s at shh dot sh . My GPG Key is 1BE6 766C DC52 439A 5722 DCA2 BDE4 3806 8A2B D353.

I also frequent IRC (freenode, esper, oftc) as either sharvey or Sabriel.